IOWA NORTHLAND REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS 229 E. PARK AVE. WATERLOO, IOWA

ANNUAL BOARD MEETING

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 19, 2024 12:00 Noon

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order; Welcome; and Introductions
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Approval of September 19, 2024, Minutes
- 4. Financial Reports:
 - a. INRCOG
 - b. RTC/On Board Public Transit
- 5. Director's Report:
 - a. Grants/Contracts
 - b. Human Resources
 - c. 229 E. Park Avenue
 - d. Legislative Update
- 6. 2025 INRCOG Officer Elections; Board and Executive Committee
- 7. Fiscal Year 2026 Membership Dues
- 8. Fiscal Year 2024 Annual Report
- 9. INRCOG Employee Recognition-Years of Agency Service
- 10. INRCOG Regional Citizen of the Year Award
- 11. Recognition of Outgoing Board Members
- 12. Other Business
- 13. Adjourn

Note: Please notify INRCOG at (319) 235-0311 or <u>inrcog@inrcog.org</u> by Tuesday, September 17th, if you plan to participate in this meeting so that appropriate luncheon arrangements can be made.

INRCOG meetings are open to all individuals. Any person requesting reasonable accommodation to participate in this meeting must contact INRCOG at (319) 235-0311 at least two business days in advance of this meeting.

IOWA NORTHLAND REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS 229 E. PARK AVE. WATERLOO, IOWA

MINUTES Annual Meeting Thursday, December 19, 2024

The annual meeting of the Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments was called to order at 12:05 p.m. by Dewey Hildebrandt, Chair.

Council members present were: Greg Barnett, Butler County Board of Supervisors; Mark Schildroth, Grundy County Board of Supervisors; Danny Laudick, Mayor of Cedar Falls; Gail Bunz, Mayor of Hudson; Chris Even, Mayor of Jesup; Gary Vick, Mayor of Raymond; Michael Schares, Mayor of Dunkerton; Lisa Smock, Mayor of Elk Run Heights; and Dewey Hildebrant, Bremer County Board of Supervisors.

Also present were: Matt Rector, for Senator Chuck Grassley; Dan Schlichtmann, Isaiah Corbin, Kyle Durant, Linda Sires, Nick Fratzke, Brenda Vavroch, Sydney Eiselt, Cindy Knox, Brenda Ponto, Brian Schoon, and Sheri Alldredge, INRCOG.

Motion by Greg Barnett, seconded by Mark Schildroth, to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by DeAnne Kobliska, seconded by Gary Vick, to approve the September 19, 2024, minutes.

Brian Schoon presented the INRCOG November 2024 Financial Report which shows a year-to-date net loss of \$85,698.47. Programs that are only drawn quarterly would add \$80,236.02 in income and expenses incurred for a regional housing program that have not yet been reimbursed would add an additional \$48,103 in income; this results in an adjusted net income of \$42,640.55 for the year-to-date. Schoon also presented the RTC November 2024 Financial Report which shows a net loss of \$106,753.78 for the year-to-date. Schoon explained there are funds to cover the deficit at this time, but vehicle expenses are \$52,000 ahead of budget. RTC's fleet is getting old, and staff is looking at a capital improvements program to include new vehicle purchases. Schoon also noted the recent purchase of scheduling software which is a one-time capital acquisition but will be an ongoing monthly expense. Motion by Barnett, seconded by Lisa Smock, to approve the November 2024 INRCOG and RTC Financial Reports. Motion carried unanimously.

Schoon presented the Director's Report beginning with an update of grant and contract activity. The newly established Cedar Falls Trust Fund, the Waterloo Housing Trust Fund, and the INRHC Regional Housing Trust Fund recently received notice of funding; subsequent contracts for the administration of the Housing Trust Funds will be forthcoming. An application has been submitted to the Iowa DOT to continue INRCOG's Safe Routes to School Program in conjunction with the Upper Explorerland Regional Planning Commission and the Iowa Bike Coalition, and a CAT grant application has been submitted on behalf of the Grundy County Conservation Board for the Pioneer Trail. A CDBG application for the City of Lawler is being prepared to be submitted in January for a water source/well project for the community. INRCOG has contracted with Chickasaw County to administer Round #2 of 5-2-1-0 funding for the City of Nashua; with the Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area to assist with their Executive Director search; with New Hampton for a Housing Needs Assessment Update; and with Allison for an Urban Renewal/Tax Increment Finance Plan.

In Human Resources, Schoon announced that a candidate for the Community Planner position has accepted an employment offer and will start on January 21, 2025. Transportation Planner interviewees are being contacted with the intent to extend an employment offer soon.

With regard to building operations, a sewer clog has been remedied and clean up has taken place. In addition, a boiler emergency shut-off switch is being relocated per the boiler inspection completed this fall.

In Legislative updates, Schoon explained that the Economic Development Administration, which had not been formally authorized since 2004 and has been operating on a continuing resolution, was very recently reauthorized. We will await the rule-making process and Schoon noted the hope for an increased budget. Schoon also briefly discussed the State Legislature noting the session beginning in January with low revenue estimates, tax reform, income tax, and energy-related issues anticipated to be addressed.

A proposed slate of Officers for calendar year 2025 was presented. Schoon noted that newly nominated members have agreed to their nomination. Motion by Kobliska, seconded by Vick, to elect the Officers as follows: Chair: Duane Hildebrant, Bremer County Board of Supervisors; Vice-Chair: Linda Laylin, Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors; Secretary: Mark Schildroth, Grundy County Board of Supervisors; Treasurer: Mayor Danny Laudick, City of Cedar Falls. At-Large Members: Greg Barnett, Butler County Board of Supervisors; Keith Wieland, Buchanan County Board of Supervisors; Mayor Lisa Smock, City of Elk Run Heights; Mayor Steve Geerts, City of New Hampton; and Mayor Quentin Hart, City of Waterloo. There being no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.

Schoon reminded the Board that cities join INRCOG by paying dues based on population. After review, it was determined best to leave Fiscal Year 2026 membership dues at \$.54/capita but increase the minimum assessment to \$125, which will apply to 10 communities. Motion by Vick, seconded by Danny Laudick to set FY 2025 membership dues at \$.54/capita and increase the minimum assessment to \$125. Motion carried unanimously.

Schoon noted that the Fiscal Year 2024 Annual Report will be e-mailed following the conclusion of the Board meeting, and it highlights activities and projects completed by INRCOG during the year. Schoon also noted that in early Spring 2025, "INRCOG 101" sessions will be held for elected officials. The sessions will be helpful especially for newly elected officials but will be open to anyone.

Mark Schildroth then presented the INRCOG Regional Citizen of the Year Award to Larry Young, former Mayor of Shell Rock. Young was thanked for his work for his community and for his many years of service on the INRCOG Board and Executive Committee.

Schoon recognized INRCOG employees for their length of service including Kyle Durant, 15 years; Dan Schlichtmann, 25 years; and Sheri Alldredge, 30 years.

Schoon also recognized outgoing Board members including Tom Little, Black Hawk County Supervisor; Ken Kammeyer, Bremer County Supervisor; Clayton Ohrt, Buchanan County Supervisor; Matt Kuhn, Chickasaw County Supervisor; and Barb Smith, Grundy County Supervisor.

There being no further business, motion by Schildroth, seconded by Gail Bunz, to adjourn the meeting at 12:55 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Brian Schoon Acting Secretary